The spine consists of a chain of bony rings called vertebrae which provide support for our whole body, linking head, shoulders, chest and pelvis. It is strong (to support the The spinebody weight), supple (discs between the vertebra absorb shock) and flexible (to allow turning and bending). Because the spinal cord is such an important part of our nervous system, it is surrounded and protected by the spine. 

There are 33 vertebrae which are divided into these major sections:  

CERVICAL (neck) which has seven vertebrae.

THORACIC (chest) which has 12 vertebrae.

LUMBAR (lower back) which has five vertebrae.

SACRAL section which has five vertebrae.

TAIL BONE/COCCYX which has four vertebrae (fused together).

Understanding Spinal Cord Injury

How we help